The Lone Star state is a big place, and driving ever so popular. Texas mandates registration of auto insurance for all vehicle owners with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Traffic citations for driving without insurance in the state, can receive a fine of up to $350 for a first-time offense. The minimum level of auto insurance coverage is liability, to protect a driver from costs related to harm of another driver as result of an accident.
Required Auto Insurance Coverage
Depending on a driver’s record, and license classification, the minimum auto insurance carriage is liability. Drivers in Texas must have liability insurance to cover bodily injury and property damage at the minimum limits of:
- $25,000 property damage coverage per incident
- $30,000 liability for bodily injury per person
- $60,000 liability coverage for bodily injury per incident
Optional Auto Insurance Coverage
Before signing on to auto insurance coverage, drivers in Texas can supplement liability insurance with the following options:
- Auto rental
- Collision insurance
- Comprehensive insurance
- Customized parts replacement
- Medical expenses
- Personal injury protection (PIP)
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance (bodily injury)
- Uninsured motorist insurance (property damage)
- Towing and repair labor
When working with an insurance agent, get more value for money on a policy with a discount for driver affiliation membership, or good student driving record. Combined insurance agreements may also cover auto indemnity at a lower rate. Factors such as age, claim history, model of car, credit score, and prior driving history while insured may impact total insurance premium price. If a driver has been classified as a risk as result of DWIs or traffic citations on their record by the Texas State DMV, auto insurance premiums will be higher.
To find out more about auto insurance in Texas, and to obtain a quote, contact InsureUS in Cypress TX.